How The Mongols Killed People Without Spilling Any Blood

All sound like absolutely terrible ways to die

Ryan Fan
CrimeBeat

--

Photo by Jason Pofahl on Unsplash

Most historical methods of killing and execution require spilling blood. You can’t behead someone, for example, without there being a lot of blood. I can’t imagine the firing squad doesn’t generate a lot of blood either.

But the Mongols were able to bypass spilling blood while killing people, particularly their enemies. And they had great reason to, according to Tara Finger at CVLT Nation: spilling blood meant a person would not live in the afterlife. Killing someone with royal heritage was usually a bad omen of things to come.

I often joke with friends I’m a descendant of Genghis Khan. I have an intensity and competitiveness in almost everything I do, but most certainly when it comes to sports like basketball, where I’ll bruise and elbow with people a foot taller than me like it’s my job.

It’s not entirely out of the realm of possibility — Genghis Khan had a lot of children and in 2003, a group of geneticists studying the Y-chromosome found 8 percent of men living in the former territory of the Mongol Empire were descended from Genghis Khan.

But I digress. Mongols didn’t only not want to spill blood for royals, but for nobles as well. In Mongol heritage, spilling the…

--

--

Ryan Fan
CrimeBeat

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.” Support me by becoming a Medium member: https://bit.ly/39Cybb8