True Crime

The Inhumane Treatment of Britain’s Longest Serving Serial Killer

Robert Maudsley one of the most fascinating killers.

Sam H Arnold
CrimeBeat
Published in
4 min readMar 26, 2021

--

Photo in the Public Domain

Over the last year, I researched many serial killers and I have always been struck by their depravity. My latest serial killer though, I feel empathy for. There is even an element that I believe his treatment is unjust. Everyone knows my favourite serial killer is Jack the Ripper, but still being alive Richard Maudsley is a fascinating case.

Early Life

Robert Maudsley was born in 1953, to an abusive family. He was one of twelve children taken into care for neglect. It was reported he was happy in care and developed well. At nine his family gained custody of him back and everything changed. His father was extremely abusive, beating him regularly. During one incident he was locked in his room for six months. The door would open a couple of times a day so his father could beat him. He broke his back whilst beating him with a rifle. He was taken back into care.

In the 1960s, Maudsley ran away to London. He started living on the streets, he tried to take his life several times. He became hooked on drugs, to pay for this habit he became a rent boy. It was during one of these transactions that he started killing.

--

--

Sam H Arnold
CrimeBeat

My writing is now on Substack. Find me there for True Crime, Writing Tips, Books and Fiction - https://substack.com/@samharnold