Why Criminal Law?

Dr. E.R. Báez
Criminal Law Talk
Published in
4 min readMar 23, 2023

--

The Law Office of E.R. Baez’ New Logo

Most people would be squeamish at the thought of representing a criminal. Of course, to represent one, one has to be an attorney. But yet, an interesting repugnancy appears to be the overwhelming view in society, when it comes to certain members of our lowest class. Perhaps, the idea of helping a person that has done wrong in society makes you, a little leery. Why not, after all, “these people” are up to no good, right? Wrong! For this reason, it is why representing the wrongfully accused has been my life long journey…and now, I hope to take you with me in some of these adventures…

Not soon after law school, I found myself representing another Puerto Rican who was accused of a crime in Texas. He was charged with Racing on a Highway, and the reason for this charge, he was speeding to a movie theater. An undercover cop stopped him and his friend (both of which had RX-7’s) because they were driving fast, in order not to miss the movie. Have you ever been late to a movie? I was hired because my client was not racing on a highway, he was just driving fast to a movie. But the cop said, “you must be a racer, that’s why you have a sport’s car.” He was found not guilty by a jury panel.

Several years later, I took on a case of a single female that was charged with prostitution. She never had any prior encounters with the law, and she was frantically asking for my help, because she was not a…

--

--

Dr. E.R. Báez
Criminal Law Talk

Attorney E.R. Báez, MDiv, JD, Ph.D., is a published author who loves to inspire others! Dr. Báez helps former criminals become productive citizens of society.