My Question. My Critical Making Plan.

allison.spiegel
Critical Making 2019
2 min readJan 23, 2019

This semester in Critical Making, we’ll explore many different technologies and tools including:

  • Physical Computing
  • Internet of Things
  • VR / AR / MR / Spatial Computing
  • Interactive and Immersive Digital / Physical Experiences
  • Parametric Design
  • Digital Fabrication
  • Automation
  • Robots
  • AI, Machine Learning

I think the best way to utilize some of these tools is to help expand on previous projects, helping them become more robust and portfolio ready. Some initial ideas include —

A VR experience with floating candles to pair with my Laurus Candle Co. I’ve always been super inspired by Yayoi Kusama’s The Souls of Millions of Light Years 2013.

Yayoi Kusama’s The Souls of Millions of Light Years 2013

I also think the Great Hall present in Harry Potter is relevant.

A VR experience with floating cranes to bring I Am What I Wish alive again. I Am What I Wish was a temporary exhibit, but I think it’d be so fun to make that a more permanent exhibit in a virtual way. I think it would be more simplified though; just consisting of cranes suspended with a few lights here and there.

Both of these experiences would help the viewer feel as though they are immersed into an infinite space.

I’m also interested in parametric design. According to Wikipedia, “Parametric design is a process based on algorithmic thinking that enables the expression of parameters and rules that, together, define, encode and clarify the relationship between design intent and design response.”

I think this would be a beautiful opportunity to focus on pattern design and development. Again, possibly helping expand other projects. Specifics are still to be determined but I found some cool examples of parametric designs.

--

--