The hardest thing you will do in your life is now.

Bryan Chung
Critical Mass
Published in
2 min readJan 14, 2020
Photo by Paulo Vizeu on Unsplash

When I was an undergraduate in university, it was the hardest thing I had ever done in my life.

When I was a masters student, it was the hardest thing I had ever done in my life.

When I was a PhD student, it was the hardest thing I had ever done in my life.

When I was a medical student, it was the hardest thing I had ever done in my life.

When I was a resident, it was the hardest thing I had ever done in my life.

And now that I’m a surgeon, it’s…the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life.

If you’re not regressing, then this will always be the hardest thing you have to do in your life. That’s what progress is.

The point is not to run away from it. Sometimes, you have to embrace the hardest thing in your life; and always, if you’re moving forward, that will always be the thing you are doing right now.

There is no growth without change. And we, by nature, resist change. And so, by nature, there is no growth without overcoming resistance.

If you’re ready for the next hardest thing in your life, find out more at http://criticalmass.ninja

--

--

Bryan Chung
Critical Mass

I want to change how we see our relationship with science in how we work and live. I’m a surgeon and research designer.