VR Music Video

Jonas Escobedo
Critical Making Spring ’19
2 min readMar 22, 2019

My final project is continuing to take shape. My initial concept was an emotional experiment, in which I would try and form representations of different emotions. As I continue to research VR, I am trying to find something that I can accomplish given my abilities and knowledge.

I began researching ways to bring in 2D images/video into a VR experience and found some encouraging resources. This blog post in particular shows a music video, more of a lyric video, for the band Duran Duran. It’s using 2D media, illustrations, photographs, and gifs, to decorate the setting of the VR experience.

Seeing this idea, I feel much more confident in my ability to replicate something like this. I plan to create illustrations as well as photographs to create my different pieces of media to decorate the setting of the experience. I want it to have a similar feel as the example above — collaged stop-motion.

My idea is that I create a 360 degree space, and a lyric/music video is being displayed all around the viewer. With this, I will need to decide on a setting, layout and the assets I use to tell the story of the song. Most of this depends on the song that I have yet to choose.

I am needing to decide on which song I want design around, which is one of the most exciting parts about the project. Which emotion/feeling do I want to cultivate? Is it joy? Anger? Sadness? Ecstasy? In a way, using music as the foundation of the project allows me to pursue what I had originally set out to, create a visual emotional simulator. And music may be a better way of doing that.

Programs I am expecting to use:

Illustrator, Photoshop, Touch Designer, Unity, After Effects, and Premiere.

Materials I am needing:

Camera, lights, image/video assets.

Problem being solved:

The problem being solved is extending the experience of music beyond purely audio or 2D media.

Skills I need most help with:

Touch designer, Unity

--

--