Credit: Orion Pictures

No Longer Child’s Play

What the “Chucky” remake has in store

David Caracciolo
Critique Me
Published in
2 min readFeb 11, 2019

--

A new trailer for the Child’s Play reboot is out and it looks completely out of the box…

This ain’t the Child’s Play I remember and that’s a good thing.

The first Child’s Play is a horror classic, but it has since become less of a horror and more of a joke.

I’ll never forget sitting through a sex scene between two dolls… as much as I’d like to. That memory will forever be stained in my mind.

The new Child’s Play will reset the timeline and retell the same story with a modern twist that has some fans turned off.

Instead of our favourite homicidal doll, Chucky, being the product of a serial killer possessing a toy, this new Chucky looks to be a product of bad A.I.

More Skynet than voodoo.

I don’t know how I feel about this yet, but I’m intrigued to see where it goes. Artificial Intelligence gone bad seems to pivot the franchise more towards Sci-fi, but I’m glad to see the horror elements are still cased within.

The franchise needed to try something new and this is definitely a new direction. Even if it fails, at least they gave it a go.

Fans of the original timeline will still be able to see the original recipe Chucky in a TV show that’s also in development.

However, I’m keen for something new. It’s refreshing to see a horror remake that isn’t just the same old story retold in a modern setting.

You can’t get more modern than A.I.

Now to check that my Google Home is kept far away from the steak knives.

--

--

David Caracciolo
Critique Me

I like big PUNS and I can not lie. You other writers can't deny