The Power of Cozy Management Simulation Games

And the Psychology Behind Their Popularity

Michelle Kwan
Crossplay

--

Minami Lane’s visuals are *chef’s kiss* (Credit: Blibloop, Doot)

I have previously discussed the stigma of cozy games and their influence on the current video game industry. However, recently, I’ve been considering the psychology behind cozy management games and why it has picked up in the indie game scene.

I think back to my obsession with games like Restaurant City and Neopets specifically; why did I spend so many hours on them? It can’t just be for relaxation, right?

Let us dive into the psychology behind management games and explore why we pour hours and hours of our lives into such games.

Management Games Have Been Around Longer Than You Think…

I watched a lot of gameplay of this game when I was younger. (Credit: Atari Interactive)

Management games have actually been on the market for a long time. Think back to games like SimCity, RollerCoaster Tycoon, or even Football Manager; these are all management games that people have poured their hearts and souls into.

Therefore, it struck me odd that people think of games like Minami Lane and Bear and Breakfast as a “new” type of genre within the cozy game sphere. It has…

--

--

Michelle Kwan
Crossplay

Aspiring Narrative Designer/Game Writer + Avid Storyteller. I mostly write about games, but sometimes I go off-track and write about other things too.