Top 5 Games of the 1980s

Jeremy Armiger
Crossplay
Published in
6 min readFeb 27, 2024
Credit: Jessica Guetta

This is both a gaming list and a nostalgic reckoning of a bygone era that modern gamers are losing patience for… It is true that if you play games from the 80s, you will find something to lament. Whether it’s the controls, the maze-like design or the finely tuned difficulty that is measured enough to make you nearly quit in rage, yet spur you on for another couple minutes.

However, I firmly believe there is still a charm and a value in these games that does not come from nostalgia or rose-tinted glasses.

See, I was born in the late 80s, so my gaming prime as a kid was in the early to mid-90s when games became less obtuse and more approachable at every turn. Sure, I played 80s games as a kid, but I’ve also played much more as a teenager and an adult. My point being is that these games are not just relics to be admired for their historical value and not enjoyed as much as modern games. They are entirely playable.

I will admit you have to be in a certain frame of mind to play them and understand the rhythm and game logic behind what you are playing. However, once you do, they can provide an experience that you simply can’t buy in today’s market. Alright, that’s enough ranting about why you should get into retro gaming; now let’s get to the top 5…

5. The Revenge of Shinobi (1989)

Credit: Sega Genesis

8

Whether at the arcade or on console, Revenge of Shinobi was the epitome of cool for any Sega-loving kid. I mean, you had The Terminator, Spider-Man, Batman and ninjas that fight this multiverse of (apparent) villains before it was in fashion. You have amazing music with the aforementioned ninjas on trains and skyscrapers.

You’ve got nice power-ups, clever design and a difficulty level that begs to be conquered (yet laughs at you as you inch your way through).

While it’s one of the best games of the 80s, it’s certainly not perfect. The double jump drove me crazy as a 9-year-old and as a 35-year-old. It’s going to get me hot and bothered just thinking about it, so I will stop here… Speaking of hot and bothered, the game is crushingly difficult. Often a fair difficulty, but sometimes cheap as can be.

However, the beautiful aesthetics and addictive gameplay outrank the annoying difficulty to provide a great experience. I know there has been a historical debate between this game and Shinobi III, but put me in the camp with the original tale of Revenge, where the real heroes reside.

4. Metroid (1986)

Credit: Nintendo

8

One of my favorite NES games that is only let down by a couple of infuriating design choices. I know it’s oft-repeated, but the 30 health after each death is super punishing when you are in the harder levels. It’s not so much the difficulty that is bothersome but the tedium it adds to the game.

That design choice, coupled with frame slowdown and flying enemies, is a recipe for a thrown controller. Add to that the system constraints and repeated layouts and aesthetics, it can start to get tiresome the more deeper you get into it.

With that said, the design, power-ups, music, originality and atmosphere are still fantastic. It’s that perfect retro mix of unique aesthetic (sci-fi 80s is the best) and a mysterious world to be conquered that makes it so memorable.

Sure, the foundation was improved, but it’s such a solid foundation that it’s quite amazing what they pulled off in the mid-80s. It’s one of the games that infuriate me while playing, yet stays in the back of my mind and leaves a positive impression when thinking back on it.

I still have my self-drawn maps of it, so that has to count for something.

3. Final Fantasy (1987)

Credit: Square Enix

8

When I started playing some retro games, with some I played as a kid and most that I missed, this was absolutely my biggest surprise. Mostly because I don’t like the genre, or at least I’ve never completed a game in the genre.

I dislike so many of the JRPG tropes, but I wanted to see where it all started and if anything clicked. Surprisingly, it really clicked with this game. I loved the levelling up, the amazing music, the freedom to mix and match classes, and did I mention the music?

The game is not forever long (big plus); it’s a simple and contained story (bigger plus), and its systems are clear and rewarding (biggest plus). It could be even higher rated for me if it weren’t for the random battles that don’t even let you take 10 steps. The game often turns into just how far can I run without being forced into a battle.

Even with that glaring problem, this was my game of that year in a year full of fun action games that are way more up my alley.

2. Mega Man 2 (1988)

8.5

It’s a classic for a reason, and if you ever get too frustrated with its old-school design, the amazing 8-bit will soothe your anger. I remember dying in that waterfall level a billion times by not making a simple jump, but my goodness, the music was too good for me to get upset. I would repeat again and again, and I would even be smiling after my 1000th death because the music was so good.

Of the NES Mega Man games, I feel this one is the most balanced. Not in terms of combat approach or difficulty because it certainly isn’t balanced in that respect. I mean balanced in that it has everything that makes Mega Man great with the bonus of being new and fresh. Sure, Mega Man 1 introduced staples of the franchise, but the sequel made them functional and fun.

The jury will always be out on whether this truly is the best Mega Man game, but I think it is rightly the measure by which all other Mega Man games are judged. An 80s gem.

1. Super Mario Bros. (1988)

10

It’s not surprising to me that this was and is such a revolutionary game. The variety of levels, the controls, the enemies, the ideas and the level design… I mean, come on. Add that to the fact that all of those above traits fit on an NES cartridge is just mind-boggling. Playing games of the era leading up to this game, you can see how much of a leap SMB3 was to its competitors.

What is surprising to me is just how well it plays right now. It still is mesmerizing with secrets, tight controls and a perfect difficulty curve that was lost in later Mario games. Never mind the bite-sized inventiveness of each level that keeps you guessing what comes next. It’s that Mario rush that makes it a top franchise, and it was here in spades all the way back in 1988.

I’m positive it’s the best game of the 80s era, and most days, I think it’s the best Mario game ever.

--

--

Jeremy Armiger
Crossplay

Ph.D Theology student. Father of two. Compulsive listmaker that loves writing about music, movies, books, games and spirituality within these mediums.