Young Sheldon keeps going strong! (S01E02)

Cliff Kang
Cross Cultural Entertainment
2 min readNov 3, 2017

I’m really encouraged by the second showing here. After a long hiatus post-pilot, I’m glad to see Young Sheldon keeping to its roots. What the second episode proved to me was that it’s going to have what I loved about the start of The Big Bang Theory, but also be able to keep it.

I felt that the weakness of The Big Bang Theory was the relationship between Penny & Leonard. It also looked like the other main characters started having steady relationships as well. The hope that I see here is that at least for a few seasons, they won’t have to rely on romance as the driving force for the story, which would ruin the charm of the show.

I’m sure romance will play a role here and there, but I don’t think they’ll encompass the storylines. The beauty of it is that for probably 2–3 seasons, they can explore Sheldon in a high school setting, then move him to college and explore the nuances of that environment. I can imagine things like holidays, prom, chemistry experiments, a math decathlon, etc.

I see a lot of hope for the longevity of the series and look forward to where they take the rest of this season :).

--

--