What can I say?

What can I say?

Crossroads Trust
Crossroads Trust Blog

--

Lost my way

No job, no dosh, no drugs today

Bills and debts I cannot pay

Family tired of my lies

The shame, my mothers cry.

What can I say?

Lost my way

Homeless, nowhere to sleep tonight

Forgotten, better outta of sight.

What is wrong and what is right?

Does anyone care about my plight?

What can I say?

Lost my way

Mugging and stealing seemed the real deal

Booze, drugs and fags-my a la carte meal.

Outta control fist were my appeal

Violence and hate, no mercy to reveal.

What can I say?

Lost my way

A rotten apple and off to the clink

At the big house, with time a plenty to think

Once inside nowhere to hide

The mirror tells me I’m on the slide.

What can I say?

Lost my way

Tired of reoffending, my choice, no more.

Time to go straight, stop breaking the law

Away with the darkness, keep to the light

Prison can work, no need to get uptight.

What can I say?

Finding my way

Rehabilitation is the name of the game

Respect yourself and others, stop the blame.

Education and retraining given me a trade

Now nothing gonna rain on my parade.

What can I say?

Finding my way

Feeling hope and not the dope

New ways of working in order to cope

No more lies behind my eyes

Substance misuse, saying goodbyes.

What can I say?

Finding my way

Managing to turn the high tide

Enjoying a new legal ride

No Adjudications, no positive MDTs

Got my parole, no more jingle of keys.

What can I say?

Found my way

My body and soul was so full of pollution

Changing my ways was an evolution.

One through a rehab revolution.

Prison was a positive solution.

What can I say?

Found my way

Turning over a new leaf

Given a new belief

Not counting the years making the years count.

Being a positive citizen is what it is all about.

What can I say?

Found my way

Crossroads gave me a second chance

Helped me to get it right, my life enhance.

Clean and no longer mean

Family and friends back on the scene.

Peer mentoring works okay

I am living proof what more can I say?

By Rebel without a cause

--

--

Crossroads Trust
Crossroads Trust Blog

Accredited peer mentoring Service supporting community members with convictions in breaking the cycle of re-offending.