You Shouldn’t Doubt Being a Salesperson. Here’s Why.

Nida An Khopiyya
Crowde
Published in
3 min readOct 2, 2020

Maybe some of you have heard a judgment that sales is the lowest job in a company. A salesperson has to reach daily and monthly targets and it is so exhausting. Do you probably think the same?

This judgment was profoundly disagreed by Mochamad Faisal Lutfi, a Farmers Consultant (FC) at CROWDE. As a farmers consultant, Faisal is assigned to meet farmers and introduce them to GARAP, a product powered by CROWDE which focuses on chili, corn, and paddy cultivation.

Faisal visits farmers’ houses and supports farmers to get capital and market access to sell their crops. He travels kilometers away, from one place to another in Sukabumi, West Java. He even went to Cianjur, the district that is actually not his duty area.

“The reason why I did that is I love my job. I admit that being a farmers consultant is exhausting. Working is exhausting and I think nobody can deny it. But I love what I do and it completely covers my tiredness” He said.

Faisal truly likes traveling and communicating with other people and fortunately, he practices those activities in his work. He is truly passionate about what he does the entire day. Because he loves traveling the most, he even once worked on a public holiday.

“It was Thursday and it was a public holiday. I didn’t realize it and I went to work” he said

Then, this Bogor Agricultural University graduate shared a few insights based on his salesperson experience. He doesn’t deny that his job requires great communication skills, but no matter how good someone’s communication skill is, he should uphold two main principles, modesty and honesty.

“Just tell the truth, but tell it interestingly”

Faisal also said that it is important to keep communicating to farmers beyond work. He tries to visit farmers frequently and talk to them about many things. From that conversation, he eventually knew the obstacles they were facing. It is such happiness for him while he can help farmers to find the solution.

One day, a farmer told me that his plant was being attacked by bugs. Because I often visit farmers, I suddenly remembered that another farmer had shown me a treatment to handle bugs. Finally, I recommended that treatment to him and it worked.

Most importantly, being a salesperson gives him two positive impacts. First, it is widening his social network and he is grateful for that.

I believe that the more we have more acquaintances, the more we can find ways to success

Faisal imagined that if he no longer works and has to open his own agricultural business, he will know how and where to sell his products. “Because being a farmers consultant makes me have many acquaintances and learn many things

Second, being a salesperson drives him to develop his problem-solving skill. When he first dived into his sales job, he faced many problems and he could not provide the solution on his own. He always asked his supervisor for the solutions.

Now, when I face the problem, I always find the root of the problem and try many solutions to solve it. It is affected on how I live my life”

These two positive impacts have aroused him to enjoy his job more.

So, do you still doubt being a salesperson?

--

--