From fleeing war crimes to Kent Uni

CrowdJustice
CrowdJustice
Published in
5 min readOct 15, 2015

Nigar Abdullayev is a star student at Kent University. Her family were granted the right to remain in the UK in 2009 after fleeing war crimes in Azerbaijan. Here, she shares with CrowdJustice her experiences growing up in Britain, and her hopes to continue her education with the help of the law.

How did you find the move to the UK from Azerbaijan?

Initially, like most people would, I experienced culture shock, and the fact that I didn’t know the language instantly made me feel like an outsider. When you dive into a different culture and an unfamiliar society, everything feels overwhelming. It completely depends on you as a person, as to whether you reject the new environment or take a positive view on the situation. Whilst the process of slowly adapting and settling in was daunting and unfamiliar at first, I decided to approach my new situation with a positive attitude and I soon felt at home. I received an incredible amount of support and soon learnt the language with the help of my newly made friends and teachers. In fact, this foreign country I suddenly found myself in has become native, and my native country is foreign to me now.

It’s strange to think, but I felt more comfortable in the UK than in the country I was born and raised in; I felt like I was capable of anything and I became more courageous and ambitious over time. Through my discovery of the cultural heritage of British society, I got to know myself better and I understood what I really believed in. It completely shook up my roots, my beliefs and my outlook on life.

It was challenging to adjust to a whole new way of life. If I had been in Azerbaijan, I would have not been able to get as many opportunities as I did in England. The things that I have learnt in the UK have shaped me to be a better person and to always aim higher.

The UK has become my new home.

How did you do at school?

Through my years at high school and college, I have always been a high achiever, grabbing every opportunity that came my way.

At high school, when I was still in the process of learning the English language, I was chosen, out of everyone in my year, to receive the 2009 Drama Award, for my work and excellent achievement in the subject. Later, in 2012, I was rewarded at the Be Proud Awards in the category of Young Achiever of the Year. I also received the Duke of Edinburgh Award and the Manchester Educational Award in the same year.

At High School I was appointed as a House Captain, taking on big responsibilities, and taking part in many fundraising activities; giving back to the British community, as they had given me a new life.

At college, I received the Rotary Breakfast Club Award for my Determination and Enthusiasm in 2013, and was chosen to participate in many programmes, due to my achievements throughout my years in education. I was also selected to be in the Manchester Access Programme, working with professors from the University of Manchester and learning many university and life skills. Other experiences, such as being handpicked for the Aspiring Professionals Programme and working with the Head of BBC, and taking part in The Realising Opportunities programme, were also incredible and taught me lifelong skills.

I am committed to achieve the best of my ability as I want to become a benefit to this country and be part of British society.

What made you choose Kent University?

Not only does Kent University have a good reputation for academic excellence (it is regularly shortlisted as one of the best universities in the UK to study Drama and scores highly on student satisfaction surveys) but it it also the biggest European University in the UK.

I chose Kent because I felt I could get the best possible education there and uncover more opportunities to improve myself, but also opportunities to enjoy my time on campus and meet many people from different backgrounds. Above all, the university is shaping me and many other students as well educated human beings, which will be a massive benefit to our community.

Why did you choose to study drama?

How would the we feel without photographs, paintings, films or books?Art instils culture and history into our society and ourselves. I chose to study drama, because drama combines the studies of traditional theatre with performance and modern practice, rewarding us with a creative outlook on the world around us. We therefore need Drama, in order to carry on this rich tradition of performing arts in society.

I chose to study (BA) Drama and Theatre in order to discover my creative potential. Studying Drama and Theatre does not only improve me as an actor, director and set designer but also as a human being. Through drama I have become a stronger individual and expanded my communication and interaction skills, making me a more confident and strong-minded person. The philosophy of drama can be summed up by the fact that it opens up the imagination and brings us cultural awareness.

What do you want to do when you’ve finished university?

I would like to continue with my education and aim to study for my Masters.

Finally, could you tell us a bit about why you want to use the law to achieve change?

The university asserts that I should be treated as an overseas student, even though my family and I were granted the right to remain by the UK Government in 2009 as victims of war crimes.

The University insists that I be treated as an “overseas” student, which means paying much higher fees than domestic students. The University refuses to change their decision, even though the Supreme Court has ruled that children and young people in my position should be regarded as resident here and able to benefit this country and British society.

This fight has only left me demoralised and with a sense of injustice.

We want to take this case to the High Court, in order for the Judge to examine the University’s irrational and unlawful decision in more detail and impose fair fees and get a student loan which I will repay just as all students do. I particularly want to be treated as a domestic student and I request a fair conclusion on my case.

You can support Nigar’s case on CrowdJustice here

Have a legal case that could benefit from crowdfunding?

Start a case on CrowdJustice today.

--

--

CrowdJustice
CrowdJustice

crowdjustice.com is a crowdfunding platform for legal cases — enabling individuals, groups and communities to come together to fund legal action.