One Truth and Two Lies About Raising Kids

Parenting wisdom, from a Grandparent

Greta Dias
Crow’s Feet

--

Free Use Photo from Canva.com

Hindsight is 20/20

I was raised in an era where children were seen, but not heard, in the presence of their elders.

All that pent-up silence has made me a “chatterbox.”

This is just a way of saying that the more we stifle our children, the more they revolt.

I am guilty of raising my own children in some of the ways I was raised, but I now consider myself to have possessed a narrow understanding of the right path to lead them on.

I don’t admit to being wrong in the way I raised my kids, just uninformed.

My experience was different from my parents. In 1972, I moved to Canada from Uganda, and I quickly realized that each country had its own ideas of what was best for a child’s education and life. I am also of Indian origin, so the mix of cultures was all very confusing for a young mother like me.

In the end, like many parents, we had to make up new rules!

Figuring out the rules of young married life

I remember the excitement of planning the best wedding ever. Suddenly, it was over, and all we were…

--

--

Greta Dias
Crow’s Feet

Born in Uganda, East Africa. Wife, Mother of two, grandmother or four!