A Family Separated By Distance

But connected by gratitude

Laura DeMaisBerg
Crow’s Feet

--

Author Image. Do Not Duplicate

Right now my partner is in New Orleans, my daughter is in Boulder Colorado, and I am in Seattle. A few days ago, I got a picture of a fully blooming jasmine from my partner who is in New Orleans, her hometown, for two weeks spending time with family and soaking up as much of Jazz Fest as she can.

Later that same morning I got a photo from my daughter of a beautiful mountain range below a bright blue sunny sky in Boulder where she is in college. Then I put on my raincoat and my baseball cap and headed out for a rainy walk in Seattle where I live. As soon as I walked out the door I was shocked by the smell of a divine spring mixture of Daphne, Lilac, and Hyacinth and surrounded by the sound of early morning bird song.

The three of us are separated by enough distance that we are each in a different time zone. My partner is in Central Daylight Time, my daughter is in Mountain Daylight Time and I am in Pacific Daylight Time. As our mornings unfolded that day, each of us was being greeted by dawn at a different time. Like postcard dominoes, I got visual updates about what the world looked like from each member of my little family before the sun rose in my own backyard.

Though I have a small family, I am used to having company. When I’m alone for a day or two, I love the…

--

--

Laura DeMaisBerg
Crow’s Feet

I write about seemingly mundane experiences that are relatable because we are human. Subscribe on Substack to get my stories directly: lauramc.sub-stack.com