Crow’s Feet Writing Prompt #57

A Few Choice Words on the Bucket List

Make your bucket list meaningful so you don’t regret it later in life

Sandra Pawula
Crow’s Feet
Published in
6 min readMay 14, 2024

--

An older woman with grey hair pulled back in a ponytail wears a beige turtleneck sweater and glances sideways while sitting in an olive green chair.
Photo by cottonbro studio on Pexels

I’ve been to London, Paris, and Amsterdam, meditated in monasteries in India and Nepal, and lived in the South of France for three years.

But I’ve never written a bucket list.

The better half of my life was lived before the 2007 movie The Bucket List, with Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman, popularized the idea.

Still, I’ve never felt compelled to jump on the bucket list bandwagon, pull out a pen, and enumerate 100 things I must do before I die.

To be honest, I’m averse to the term. But I do have preferences and priorities for the rest of my life.

The origin of the bucket list

The term bucket list rings crass to me. Considering how it derives from “kick the bucket,” you’ll probably understand the rationale behind my dislike.

No one knows the origin of “kick the bucket,” which means to die. One theory suggests it refers to hanging via execution or suicide, when the support beneath you falls away and your neck snaps with a crack.

--

--

Sandra Pawula
Crow’s Feet

Essays to calm your mind, ease your heart and access your inner wisdom. I love Hawaii, mindfulness, and living with ease. https://sandrapawula.substack.com/