A Guide for Women to Male Backyard Cooking Appliances

Milestones on the male culinary odyssey.

Orrin Onken
Crow’s Feet
Published in
9 min readMar 28, 2024

--

AI image. Prompt by Author.

My wife allows me to have two outdoor cooking appliances on our back deck. Any more than that, she claims, makes the place look like a used car lot. I can live with the limitation. In all other respects, she is a good wife.

Limited to two devices, I swap out items every two years or so. In the spring, I get rid of one and replace it with another. Deciding what to get rid of and what to replace it with takes all winter, time spent researching, thinking, wandering the back alleys of Reddit, and consulting with the other old guys at the park. None of the items I abandon are worn out or obsolete. I replace them as part of my outdoor cooking journey, just as one might take the Grand Canyon off your potential summer vacation list because you went there last year.

Every time I swap out cooking devices my wife rolls her eyes and gives me that men-are-so-silly look. This led me to believe that it would be worthwhile to create a simple guide to the milestones on every man’s outdoor cooking journey.

The Hibachi

For most men my age (old), outdoor cooking began on a hibachi. A hibachi is small, portable, and even today a guy can get a cheap cast iron model from Home Depot for forty bucks. I…

--

--

Orrin Onken
Crow’s Feet

I am a retired elder law attorney who lives near Portland, Oregon. I write legal mysteries for Salish Ponds Press and articles about being old.