Norma Bourland
Crow’s Feet
Published in
4 min readJul 28, 2021

--

Simone Biles at Tokyo Olympic 2021

Life is a challenge…especially lately!

Not because of one single reason, but because of a multiplicity of reasons, some of which are just usual life challenges that happen continuously; some due to coming out of a year and a half of isolation and the readjustments that come with it; and some from unexpected situations that don’t happen often but when they do, create disappointment, fear, anxiety or loss.

Sounds a little like I’m plagiarizing Scott Peck’s opening statement in The Road Less Traveled, “Life is difficult.” But I’m feeling it!

I’ve gained some “Covid-pounds” and can’t seem to stop eating ice cream! (and I mean every day!) My hair is rapidly thinning, as is my skin! I’ve gotten so used to slow, easy mornings that any scheduled appointment now feels overwhelming, as does fun, social “dates.” I feel somewhat resentful whenever I need to dress in something other than my lose-fitting dog-walking clothes. My long-haul post-Covid brain fog interrupts my ability to write or read or think through stuff for any length of time, and my normal positive, good nature has been side-swiped by impatience and irritability. More often than not, I’m a grumpy old woman instead of a vibrant one!

And this is just the small stuff!

More important are the unexpected things like the death of friends, the serious illness of a neighbor and the major surgery of a family member, not…

--

--