Image by capri23auto, Pixabay

A Message from the Other Side

Or is it just an annoying bird and menopause?

Anna I. Smith
Published in
5 min readApr 8, 2020

--

It’s 5 a.m. A screeching, sharp twitter like no other wakes me up.

I try to but can’t go back to sleep. Thirty years ago I’d wake up and fall asleep without a problem. Now things are different. Now my on-off switch gets stuck in the on position. It’s ironic. When I finally have the opportunity to set my own schedule, when it’s just the two of us with no next day obligations I wake up before the wildlife outside my window does. Menopause is cruel.

After twenty minutes of listening to the loud, relentless bird sound I get out of bed and slowly shuffle down the hall to my office.

The small room has a built-in daybed surrounded by bookcases. Along one wall there’s a rectangular narrow window with my desk underneath. Even at this hour, I don’t bother to close the curtains. Having the opportunity to see a new day take shape is an honor and something I don’t want to miss.

But at five in the morning total darkness still rules. I open my laptop and begin to go through that night’s emails. Suddenly I hear a slight thump. Something hit the window. I look up and there’s the bird sitting on the window sill. The tiny black and white creature is staring at me. Staring at me and chirping.

--

--

Anna I. Smith

Writes about human behaviors of all kinds (including my own).