A New Table Mate and a Shock

James Frank Sanders
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readMay 26, 2022

--

When you change your dining room position, you will change much more.

Photo courtesy of author Jim Sanders

The noise in the dining room was chaos. I adjusted my hearing aids.

It did not help. I could hardly discern what others were saying.

The ceiling was low and oppressive, and the new, talkative resident at the next table had a basso profundo voice. I hoped he would move to another table. Not a chance. He was settling in and getting comfortable.

It was time for me to move. I must find a quiet place. I needed to get away from the constant noise.

A table near the window and emergency exit looked like my best bet.

The only one sitting there was Wallace Barron, a bearded Black man with a kind face. Wallace is also one of our Resident Ambassadors who helps newcomers adjust to community living.

We knew each other as we are both longtime residents of our senior living home.

He welcomed me to the table and asked for God's blessing before eating.

After four meals together, Wallace said he wanted to show me something.

He opened his briefcase and pulled out a modest-sized book.

The book was a series of professionally printed photographs taken by Wallace. Under each photo was a phrase or…

--

--

James Frank Sanders
Crow’s Feet

97-year-old Jim Sanders chronicles life as a senior citizen. He has lived a long time and has stories to tell.