A Shitty Day

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet
Published in
4 min readApr 12, 2021

--

This wasn’t my idea of retirement…

I can’t believe this is happening! Selfie photo by Mary McGrath

My partner and I had been together for 27 years. She had recently retired, and we were beginning to make plans about how we would proceed after she stopped working.

We both thought that moving out of Los Angeles was necessary. The pace, the traffic and the cost of living there had become prohibitive. We thought about other places to live. Austin seemed promising, along with other parts of California. We even thought about going to Switzerland…that is until we paid a visit to Florida.

We had been visiting The Sunshine State for the past several years, and always enjoyed the terrain. It was beautiful. It was cheap. We had family there, and that made it even more attractive.

But on this last visit, something different happened. My girlfriend and her sister went next-door to look at real estate, and the next thing I knew, they were making plans for my partner to purchase a home. Her 90-year-old mother was in need of care and she felt it was her turn to step up to the plate as a caregiver.

I was not in favor of this. We never discussed moving to Florida collectively. It was supposed to be a joint decision. I felt blindsided.

“I told you I needed to do this,” she explained.

--

--

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet

Top writer in humor, short stories, writing, advice and poetry. She’s written for Newsweek, Wall St. Journal, Good Housekeeping, and Chicken Soup for the Soul.