Red Autumn Leaves on wet wood surface
Fragile Autumn Leaves. Photo by the author.

A Slip and Fall, a Broken Arm, a Diagnosis and a Plan

Teresa Stelpstra
Crow’s Feet

--

We are deep into autumn. I love everything about it, the crisp cool air, the long walks, taking in the all the gorgeous colour. Eye candy everywhere. But soon, when the snow arrives, I’ll be leaving my house with much more care and caution.

Back in February, I went for a walk with my partner in the neighbourhood. It was very cold; snow and ice covered the sidewalk. With my arm held snugly under his, I remarked that it would be a shame if one of us slipped and fell. And immediately slipped and fell, backward, my right arm slipping from his and my left arm automatically swinging back to break my fall. I felt the click and snap and knew this can’t be good.

As I lay there everything went black for a moment. When the light came back, I saw my fella standing above me looking quite alarmed. He helped me to my feet and to the hospital, where I received the best care, the nicest morphine, the immediate x-ray and the bad news that it was a clean break, near the shoulder of my left arm. And the painful, precarious journey to healing began.

A bone scan revealed that I have severe osteoporosis. Did not see that coming. So, the risk of breaking something else from a fall is very high, apparently.

I did some research to bone up on all things osteoporosis and learned that one in three adults aged 50 and over dies within 12 months of suffering a hip fracture. Well… that’s unpleasant. Several factors can contribute to death after a hip fracture, ranging from issues that led to the fall, such as cardiovascular, pulmonary or neurological issues. My issue was an icy sidewalk. The other factors are post-surgical complications like infections and pulmonary embolism. I’m in relatively good shape for 62, with an excellent diet, leading my doctor to wonder why my bone density was so low. He had me tested for various cancers, multiple myeloma and lymphoma. All negative, but still, that was scary. It’s all been quite stressful, but it has also been motivating.

I wouldn’t have known the fragility of my bone density if I hadn’t slipped on the ice. Ignorance is bliss, but the diagnosis, after the fear and panic subsided, made me realize I needed to plan for healthier living. Like taking preventive measures, and especially much more exercise. Bone-building exercise, with weights.

After months of physiotherapy, I hired a personal trainer to learn proper technique for weight-bearing exercises, and got into a routine that has greatly improved my strength, posture, balance and perseverance.

I checked out the various drugs available for osteoporosis. Bisphosphonates, like Fosamax, mainly work to keep the old bone in, giving you better bone density, but still a level of fragility, because, well, it’s old bone. I looked into Romosozumab (Evenity). This is the newest bone-building, medication to treat osteoporosis, encouraging the building of new bone density. It’s given as an injection every month and is limited to one year of treatment. I’m told I could gain 15% bone density back. Follow up injections of Prolia, are given every six months, to reduce the incidence of fractures and help maintain bone density.

I’ve also read The Myth of Osteoporosis: What Every Women Should Know About Creating Bone Health, by Gillian Sanson, a highly recommended read before making any prescription decisions.

“Bone mineral density testing measures only bone mass, not factors that contribute to bone fragility, such as bone size, shape and internal support (trabecular cross-bracing).”

“The importance of exercise can not be overstated. Weight bearing exercise increases bone strength and helps the entire body stay fit. Walking 30 minutes a day, 4 times a week, will substantially increase bone strength.”

“Falling is a big problem for the elderly, not bone density. Because any bone will fracture under certain conditions, and most older women would fracture with the impact of an unprotected fall.”

— The Myth of Osteoporosis

I’m weighing the costs and side effects of these drugs against the risk that I might fracture a bone in another fall. There are many more considerations than bone density in assessing this risk: Age, previous fractures, sedentary lifestyle and poor diet, to name a few.

The cost, and the side effects listed for all these drugs are enough to make me want to just continue my exercise and nutrition program; lunges and squats with weights, various yoga routines to improve balance and walking every day. Supplements of Vitamin D, magnesium to help bones absorb calcium, and red mineral algae, all look promising for building back bone density. I’m doing everything I can think of to improve my health and the odds of not fracturing again. Diet and exercise go such a long way to improve our physical and mental health. It’s been eight months since I fell, I’m in better shape now than before, and you can bet your ilium I’ll keep it up.

Yesterday my partner and I walked along that same street in the neighbourhood, lined with gorgeous trees and autumn colours, the sidewalk strewn with fallen leaves. I gave his arm an extra squeeze, so grateful for the mobility to enjoy it all. I want to squeeze the juice out of every day, and not give in to fear and anxiety of the approaching winter months. I’ll be wearing fashionable boots with strap on cleats, and a thick layer of resilience.

--

--

Teresa Stelpstra
Crow’s Feet

I’m a professional graphic and web designer, mom of 3 fabulous adult kiddos, part time fine art painter, and loving my new life on the other side of 60.