AGING I RETIREMENT I INSPIRATION

Aging Well

Get Inspired!

Jody Wright
Crow’s Feet
Published in
5 min readMay 20, 2024

--

Photo by Jared Weiss on Unsplash

Face it. We all do it. Often we are obsessed with it. Sometimes we even enjoy it.

No, not that. Aging!

At 68 years old, I often look in the mirror and smile. I have come to accept my beautiful white hair that shines brightly with the sun’s light. I move well. My body treats me as well as I treat it.

This has not always been my viewpoint. In my forties, I kicked and screamed into the inevitable path we will all travel. In my teens, I had thought myself wild enough to never last that long but life has a funny way of laughing. At 40 years old, I was beginning not to want to live fast and die. I rather liked being on the earth . . . except for the wrinkles that were now appearing on my once smooth face.

By 50, I was still reinventing myself. I had spent many years creating art and was self-employed. I loved creating art. I loved my husband whom I had married at 23 years old. I remembered that at 23, almost all of my friends had married already and I was late to arrive there. That seems funny now.

At age 52, I wrote a book, 50 Secrets Humans Should Know that combined my art and love for dogs with the life tips I had learned from them. It must have met with others on their journey because it sold…

--

--

Jody Wright
Crow’s Feet

Writing mostly humor, inspiration, poetry, and anything upbeat. Artist and lover of all things four-legged, especially dogs. Stay, fetch a chair & romp with me.