All of Us Die. Not All of Us Truly Live.

Julia E Hubbel
Crow’s Feet
Published in
11 min readMay 9, 2021

--

Our ship off the cost of an Indonesian Island. Julia Hubbel

Art imitates life imitates art, at least in this life

If you are a regular reader — for which I am grateful -- you likely know that I like to link and tag other writers. In this case, John DeVore, whose commentary on movies often strikes a responsive chord for me. This past week he wrote about one of my favorite movies of all time (yes yes yes I know, the titular quote is from Braveheart, get over it):

I adore this movie, having watched it so many times I can quote most of the dialogue. However, the prompt for me this time was to watch the film differently. M&C speaks to me as a military person, a leadership trainer, and as someone who has also explored the Galapagos.

Every so often when I watch a favorite film it can act as a reminder of how my life has changed. This was one of those times.

The movie is on now in the background. The realization came as something of a surprise, if you will pardon the unintended pun on the ship’s movie name.

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
Crow’s Feet

Stay tuned for some crossposting. Right now you can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ More to come soon.