Are We Really as Old as We Feel?

Micah Ward
Crow’s Feet
Published in
4 min readAug 18, 2023

--

And do we have to be?

Photo by lasse bergqvist on Unsplash

I just celebrated my 67th Happy Birthday and I’m feeling pretty good. But I wonder if this is how I’m supposed to feel at this point in my life. If I was asked how 67 feels I would have to answer, “Compared to what?”

Do I feel 67? I don’t have a clue! I’ve never given much thought to how any particular age would or should feel. We all age differently and each milestone will be different for me than for you and even for the lady on the next bar stool.

We’ve all heard the cliche that we are only as old as we feel. What exactly does that mean? Does it mean how we feel as we go about our daily activities or when we try to go beyond everyday activity? Does it mean how we feel when trying to navigate new technology? How we feel when we play our first game of pickleball?

I heard an interesting variation from a guy I worked for many years ago. He said a man is as young as the woman he feels. Since I was dating his daughter at the time I declined to comment.

But I digress.

The aging process certainly has its effect on how we feel, and that effect is stronger some days than others. When I suffered a pinched nerve in my back several years ago, I felt every bit of 100 years old. But that affliction improved and last year I ran two road races at the…

--

--

Micah Ward
Crow’s Feet

Micah is a retiree who writes, runs, prays and enjoys craft beer in the rolling hills of central Tennessee. He goes to the ocean when he can.