At My Age, I Tried to Be An Angry Asshole But Failed Miserably

So I became a micro asshole on demand and still failed

Lee J. Bentch
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readSep 30, 2021

--

Photo by Loan on Unsplash

I’m not an angry guy anymore. I’m in my upper 60’s and don’t have time to be mad. I’m not sure why this is. It is just my persona.

The few times I get angry, I’m not sure anyone takes me seriously, like an angry kitten. When something makes me mad or is aggravating, I feel I need to reach into my back pocket and pull out a set of notecards reminding me what to do.

My notecards say, ‘when you get angry, try hard to be an asshole. If no one takes you seriously, go have a martini and chill out.’

I know there’s a lot of angry people in the world, and I used to work with a few. Some died because their hearts exploded or had strokes from blood pressure readings equivalent to a volcano before it explodes.

I’m not one of them. My blood pressure problems are tied directly to genetics, a little bit of extra weight, and coffee.

People ask me all the time, “What makes you angry?”

I have to think hard about that. I finally came up with a quick list.

A Social Worker friend told me making lists is a psychological life defect. I’m not sure about that. I’m still alive, healthy, happy…

--

--

Lee J. Bentch
Crow’s Feet

I am an author, a technology guy, a grandad, a widower, and a man with many interests. I write to inform and entertain. Email: lee@lbentch.com