At What Age Should Someone Retire?

The answer surprised me.

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by James Hose Jr on Unsplash

Surprise!

The average person retires at the age of 61!

This doesn’t mean that the person won’t ever work again. Some people start a new career after they retire, or they might work part-time.

I live in a military town where many people retire from the military at the age of forty, and they either start a completely new career or continue in the same field but with a private contractor. So when they finally decide to stop working, they might have two retirements as well as social security.

After spending thirty-two years as an educator, I have a pension. Since my retirement at the age of fifty-four, I have worked several jobs, and now I’m fulfilling my dream of being a writer. I had always intended to work part-time after retirement, but I was pretty surprised to find how hard part-time jobs are to find and how little they actually pay.

It’s a problem.

Getting older isn’t for sissies. Older people have an excellent work ethic, but they also are starting to slow down. Some of us might have health issues or might be resistant to learning new skills.

Age discrimination becomes an issue, and older workers might find themselves forced out of their job.

--

--

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor