LIFE I FAMILY

Butterfly Kisses

Yours will last a lifetime!

Jody Wright
Crow’s Feet
Published in
2 min readApr 11, 2024

--

Butterfly kisses come from humans too! (Image created by Jody Wright with Bing’s Image Creator)

Sometimes you get gifts that will last a lifetime. My grandmother gave me one of the best! Why was it one of the best? Because it will last until the final day I close my eyelids.

What on earth could that be?

Butterfly kisses, of course.

When I was a child, my grandmother lived with us, and I slept with her. Each night, before I fell asleep, she’d read me a chapter from a favorite book like “Peter Rabbit,” and then she’d kiss me goodnight. Not in the traditional way. Instead, she’d flutter her eyelashes on my cheek, giving me “butterfly kisses”. The soft flutter, like butterfly wings, would always make us giggle. It was the last thing I’d feel before entering dreamland.

Now, almost seven decades from that, I can still close my eyes and feel that love. Simple, unconditional and eternal.

I can think of few gifts that last that long and none more precious.

To know that one is loved is the greatest of all gifts. To know it for a lifetime … all the better.

--

--

Jody Wright
Crow’s Feet

Writing mostly humor, inspiration, poetry, and anything upbeat. Artist and lover of all things four-legged, especially dogs. Stay, fetch a chair & romp with me.