Cosmetic Surgery…Yes or No?

I’ve got mixed emotions on this one…

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet

--

I’m ready for my close-up!-Photo by Mary McGrath

A few women in my neighborhood have recently undergone plastic surgery. Yeah, they look younger. They look revitalized. And their confidence has soared. But I have mixed emotions about this.

I have done a few things over the years including coloring my hair, using liquid nitrogen to remove age spots, and whitening my teeth from time to time. Occasionally I have tried some over-priced creams to hopefully make me look better.

But undergoing the knife? I’m not so sure about that.

Is it too late for plastic surgery?-Photo by Mary McGrath

For women, it is expected that they stay young and vital looking, no matter what age they are. It’s a double standard when it comes to men and women regarding their looks.

It’s OK for men to age, assuming they have made a lot of money. They can go gray, have a paunch, and enjoy their nose hairs. But for women? So much of a women’s currency is predicated on looking young, being thin, and not having any physical evidence of the aging process.

As women, we are still ask expected to have that timeless look regardless of our age. Should I get an eye lift? Implants or veneers…

--

--

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet

Top writer in humor, short stories, writing, advice and poetry. She’s written for Newsweek, Wall St. Journal, Good Housekeeping, and Chicken Soup for the Soul.