Crow’s Feet Prompt #58, Music

Old Hipsters Go See The Piano Man

Billy Joel was amazing; need I say more?

Carole Olsen
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readMay 27, 2024

--

In recent years, my husband, Eric, and I have treated ourselves to a play as a Christmas present. This year, we thought we’d go all out, take the train to New York City, see a show and Billy Joel in concert.

The last time I was at Madison Square Garden for a concert was in the late ‘70s when I saw John Denver who has since hit his own country road in the sky.

Billy Joel has been performing at Madison Square Garden every month for years. Joel made a deal with the Garden that he would perform every month if he had a sold-out crowd, which happened for 98 shows before we attended. We were show number 99. His 100th show was televised.

I guess his sold-out performances could go on forever, but this summer, Joel decided enough is enough, and the monthly shows are ending.

We decided to go see him, though I have not been to a big concert with Eric, ever. Would this be a big mistake? Too much noise? Not comfortable enough seats? As seniors, these are real concerns.

--

--

Carole Olsen
Crow’s Feet

Author, Freelance Writer, Loves Animals and Selective Humans.