Do You Become Better at Detecting BS as You Age or Just Less Forgiving?

I’m finally finding my voice and it feels pretty awesome

Lisa Johnson
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo of myself, with my mum, sister, and niece at my 50th party.
My 50th birthday party, with my mum, sister, and niece. Photo credit: the author.

I seem to be coming across more bullshit than ever.

Or am I just better at recognising and calling it now I’ve reached my 50s and seem to have found my voice?

I spent years hiding under the cloak of low self-esteem, always agreeing with everyone, never taking an opposing stance, and keeping my opinions hidden for fear they might upset someone or make them dislike me.

Then I turned 50, and I felt a shift. I have become less agreeable to others’ actions and words if they feel inauthentic or clash with my morals and values.

(And I’ve found a liking for leopard print as shown in the above photo.)

Maybe my self-esteem is finally emerging from the crap I have taken on over the years. Ex-partners, pretend friends, and this filtered society we live in have all played their part in making me feel not enough. I molded myself to fit in everywhere rather than finding places I belonged. These places, of course, were impossible to find because I struggled to be my true self.

Maybe I have finally found my voice. The one that was silenced during years of abuse and kept quiet during the years…

--

--

Lisa Johnson
Crow’s Feet

Helping those that have been hurt in the name of love rediscover their true selves. https://www.pearllifestyles.com/