Experian, TransUnion and Equifax Are Dead to Me

Orrin Onken
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readJul 23, 2022

--

Photo by Jonathan Cooper on Unsplash

For me, getting old led to retirement, and retirement meant saying goodbyes. Some were sad goodbyes. Others not so much. Three of my favorite goodbyes were to credit reporting agencies.

Experian, TransUnion, and Equifax

Hasta la vista, assholes.

I need you no longer. My house is paid for. My car is paid for, and the next time I move it will be to long-term care. I will not be starting a business, needing a loan, or doing anything that requires your permission. My current bank loves me and provides me with two credit cards, which I use and pay off at the end of every month.

Go peddle your credit ratings somewhere else.

For a long time, when I was young, I didn’t use credit. Times were different. I paid cash, wrote checks, and did just fine. It was not a problem until it was.

While I wasn’t paying attention, credit and credit cards had become the driver’s licenses of economic life. To get into the game I needed credit and to get credit I had to pay interest to somebody.

To establish credit, I bought a car. I could have paid for the car in cash, but that wouldn’t have built credit. So instead of paying all at once, I found a co-borrower with credit, bought the car on time, made payments, including hefty interest…

--

--

Orrin Onken
Crow’s Feet

I am a retired elder law attorney who lives near Portland, Oregon. I write legal mysteries for Salish Ponds Press and articles about being old.