Fairways, Fun & Fizz

Rosy Gee
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readAug 3, 2021

--

It’s never too late to learn a new hobby

Photo by Matt Aylward on Unsplash

When a friend of mine suggested going along to a golf taster session, I thought this was a game for retired folks.

Where would I get the time? I was in two minds whether to go along, but I did.

First, the ladies were really friendly and made us feel very welcome. We chatted in the sumptuous surroundings of the newly refurbished golf club that was overlooking the greens, fairways, and splendid English countryside beyond.

Having bonded with two newbie golfers, we headed out to the putting green. A young professional gave us a quick lesson in how to hold the club and told us not to use our wrists, but to swing our shoulders “like a pendulum.”

Easy, or so I thought. Not so. There is definitely a knack to it, and the greens were in immaculate condition and ran fast. My first attempt overshot the hole by a mile (rather embarrassing) but it did not make me feel awkward. I laughed it off and concentrated more on my next shot.

I enjoyed the challenge and before long I was getting holes in one.

Next, it was time to move round to the driving range, where another golf pro was waiting for us. He gave us a potted version of how to hold the iron and taught us how to position ourselves in front of the ball, how to swing and follow…

--

--

Rosy Gee
Crow’s Feet

An author working hard towards becoming a full-time novelist. You can find out more here: http://rosygee.substack.com