Fear of Retirement

It’s not as bad as you think

David Martin
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Diana Parkhouse on Unsplash

I’ve been retired for fourteen years now and I love it. The simple fact that I no longer have to go to work by itself makes retirement wonderful.

Most working folks eagerly await the day that they can put down their mouse or set aside their keyboard and begin their post-work life. But for some folks, the end of their working life brings fear and anxiety.

What will I do with all that extra time? Will I be bored? Will I have enough money? Will I miss the abuse from my boss?

These are legitimate concerns but I’m here to tell you that they’re illusory. Once you’re aware of what’s really in store for you, all of your pre-retirement worries and cares will melt away like that beeswax salve for your arthritis.

The primary concern of those on the cusp of workplace departure is how they will fill up the time. First of all, don’t fret since you’re not looking to fill up a 24-hour day. At worst, you’ve got an eight-hour gap to fill from Monday to Friday. And if you’re like most folks, you’re already using part of that time at work to snooze, chat, and surf the Internet. So practically speaking, you probably only have to worry about what you’re going to do for an extra four hours a day.

--

--

David Martin
Crow’s Feet

Wordsmith, humorist and author of “Dare to be Average” on Amazon. Support Dave’s writing by joining Medium: https://daretobeaverage.medium.com/membership