Finding Purpose in Life

My journey from depression to purpose and fulfillment — Crow’s Feet Writing Prompt #50

Louisa Scott
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

Have you lost your sense of purpose at some point in your life?

Lots of times.

If so, how did you handle it?

In my younger years, not very well. Having purpose and meaning in my life has always been important to me. When I hit periods where felt directionless, that was the worst. If didn’t feel useful, productive, or appreciated, I battled depression.

To tell the truth, I had a huge problem with depression when I was younger. But I don’t get hit with depression much at all as I’ve grown older, despite going through some difficult times. So that’s something I appreciate about old age!

As the years passed, I began to see that life has its cycles, and these periods will pass. I learned not to freak out about it. To sit tight and wait.

Photo by Salomé Guruli on Unsplash

Often I picture myself waiting for a train to pass by. It stops you in your tracks. It obscures your vision. But there is no use trying to drive around…

--

--

Louisa Scott
Crow’s Feet

Middle East, Asia, Europe ex-pat & explorer, Creek Nation citizen, teacher, student, editor, mom, grandma, believer, non-profit founder, lover of nature