Going gray

Julie Farray Roick
Crow’s Feet
Published in
1 min readFeb 26, 2023

--

A poem

Variations on a theme. Image by the author

Truth be told I’ve been gray
For many years
So saying I’m going gray
is a euphemism

A phone call to the girls
Gave me the confidence
Husband less enthusiastic
Wait a little longer

The decision, a private one
The journey, not so much
Vulnerability leads to growth
A long year of vulnerability

Free from the four-week ritual
No more magic potion
I would need to find
a new alchemic strategy

It takes confidence
The ego side steps
Youth would be drawn from an attitude
from strength, from capabilities

A part of a club
A not-so-secret society
Upturned lips
from the other members

Observing the holdouts
with salt and pepper men
Double standards
but we are used to this

I wish I knew then
what I know 25 years later
When I bought my first bottle
of medium brown

Advice to the hesitant and
To the youngsters who might
Own your beauty
Youth comes from within

Not from the not-so-magic potion

--

--

Julie Farray Roick
Crow’s Feet

I’m deeply introverted and muse about life’s experiences. Visit my website for my latest coaching offerings. www.julieroick.com