Going to the Gym as an Older Man

An insider’s view

John Egelkrout
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Anastase Maragos on Unsplash

In case you were wondering, that is not me in the photo above.

I have been athletic my whole life, almost from the time I could walk. I was blessed with good coordination, an athletic build, and lots of older boys in my neighborhood who taught me how to play sports. I was that kid that left home in the morning with his baseball glove and bicycle and came home only to eat.

Before I was even in kindergarten, I was already playing baseball in the local schoolyard with a plastic bat and a tennis ball. I could throw and catch a baseball or football better than anyone in my class. At recess, I often taught the other boys in my class how to play football or baseball. I was a prepubescent jock.

Go ahead. Ask me about the first Super Bowl.

My athleticism continued throughout high school and well into my adult life. I always valued physical activity and remained active throughout my early adulthood. I hiked, played golf, and maintained a membership at the local gym. I rode my bicycle often, kept my weight where it should be, and ate a healthy diet.

After I turned 50, things began to change noticeably.

The days of playing team sports were long gone, and while I still wanted to golf, I found myself neck-deep in…

--

--

John Egelkrout
Crow’s Feet

I am a sanity-curious former teacher who writes about politics, social issues, memoirs, and a variety of other topics.