Growing up in the 1970s

It was far out, man!

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

--

Activist Angela Davis had classic 1970s style. Photo by Unseen Histories on Unsplash

I just opened up a bar of Yardley soap. I buy it because back in the 1970s, there would be an ad for Yardley soap in Teen magazine. I can still remember the girl in the picture. She had blonde hair, bright blue eyeshadow, and flowers in her hair. Surely, if I used Yardley soap, I would look like that girl? Wouldn’t I? Unfortunately, we used Dial soap back in those days. So I continued to be a girl who was tall, skinny, with curly brown hair. I wonder what that girl in the ad looks like today? I have a feeling that she still doesn’t look like me.

Things were sure different back in those days.

Photo by Alireza Esmaeeli on Unsplash

For instance, cable TV was a luxury. I remember how proud I was that we had twelve channels. My father wouldn’t pay the extra money for more than one television to have the cable, so he bought cable wire and strung it all over the house to attach it to our other TVs. There was cable taped up the side of the stairs, and long after we sold his house, I could see a roll of cable outside my old bedroom window. I knew I was lucky because my cousins who lived in the country only got one channel. There was no cable available, even if their parents would pay for it.

--

--

Ruby Lee
Crow’s Feet

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor