Home is Inside. In More Ways Than One.

Julia E Hubbel
Crow’s Feet
Published in
9 min readOct 3, 2021

--

Photo by David Holifield on Unsplash

What is home? Beth Bruno writes her version. I share mine.

The lovely and often very lyrical Beth Bruno has a home in the country, found love later in life, and the two have combined in that uber-happy way that things can if we are open to serendipity. Having not read a piece of hers for a while, my excuse was that I was five weeks in Africa, yesterday I saw that she’d been writing again and I leapt on this piece. Here you go:

So glad I did.

Beth’s essay spoke directly to me in a variety of ways, in part because I had last year sold a home I’d inhabited with great love and affection for some fourteen years. I jettisoned my aging ass to the Pacific Northwest, where for months I struggled to finish projects, watched as wildfires got too close for comfort, and engaged in the process of discarding long-loved things, buying new ones and creating a nest out of the new.

It was most disconcerting, done under quarantine, and late in life. And exciting as hell. What perhaps struck me the most were several themes…

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
Crow’s Feet

Stay tuned for some crossposting. Right now you can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ More to come soon.