A Book in a Month

How I Wrote a Book

NaNoWriMo inspired me to tackle the impossible!

Sue Dockstader
Crow’s Feet
Published in
4 min readOct 27, 2023

--

Nothing like a good nose-cleaning to awaken the inner muse. Author with faithful doggo, Taz.

National Novel Writing Month is a thing. It’s actually a nonprofit organization offering tools and encouragement for wannabe novel writers like me. And maybe you too?

I’ve been writing content for others for years. Website copy, marketing blurbs, newsletter articles. Never more than about 2,000 words and always researched, written, and paid for within a few weeks. The thought of writing an entire book seemed ludicrous and way too time-consuming. Heck, I rarely get my Christmas letter finished before January.

After hanging out with a bunch of authors as we collectively learned about book marketing (I self-published a series of children’s books written by my Mum and needed to figure out how to reduce the boxes of books in her garage), I became intrigued by the book-writing process. But I continued to think — this is not for me.

Their babble about scene structures and narrative arcs initially confirmed my view that I didn’t have the patience, let alone the story-writing chops for more than about 5 pages.

But then this little germ of an idea started sprouting in my subconscious.

--

--

Sue Dockstader
Crow’s Feet

Writer/editor/publisher. Long-distance parent searching for a meaningful life over sixty. Loves dogs, orchids, and her own opinion on almost anything.