Travel

How Many Road Trips Do I Have Left?

My days of easily driving 15 hours are over.

Dan Hanley
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readMar 22, 2024

--

On the road in Sonora, Mexico. Photo credit: Author

I have always loved road trips.

My husband and I have a big one coming up in May. We’re heading from outside of Los Angeles to a wedding in St. Louis, then visits in Michigan, the Chicago area, Omaha, Denver, and back home.

It won’t be our longest road trip, but it did have me thinking about how many more of these I have in me.

Right now I’m in Phoenix as part of a Vegas, Phoenix, Tucson, Palm Springs road trip. The longest drive I have is about six hours or so from Tucson to Palm Springs. This is perfect.

We moved to the LA area almost nine years ago from Denver, and since then I have done a dozen plus drives to Denver. I used to drive direct, all 15 hours, with no problem. Then I found a pretty sweet traveler’s motel in Fruita, Colorado and ever since have been driving from home to Fruita, then onto Denver the next morning.

I love that. Eleven-and-a-half hours of driving, then a meal and some rest, and a beautiful, early-morning drive through the Rocky Mountains arriving in Denver just around lunch time.

I wonder if the 11-1/2 hours will become too much, or when it will, and where I will want to stop between LA and…

--

--

Dan Hanley
Crow’s Feet

I write about nonprofits, fundraising, recruiting, self-care. Human rights, domestic violence, borders, and refugee focused. Sober. Vegan. https://altrui.org/