How to Record Yourself on Zoom

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readApr 26, 2021

--

Even if you’re a senior, it’s pretty easy to perform your creations with these simple steps

Photo by visuals on Unsplash

With live readings falling by the wayside, many of us are looking at other avenues for our live performances. In my theater group, I have recently started experimenting with reading my work on Zoom. It’s very rewarding, and relatively simple to do.

No commuting is necessary, there’s no fumbling for a parking spot, and if you’re adverse to standing for long periods of time, this is an easy remedy.

If you already have a free Zoom account, you can simply record yourself. Even within the 45-minute limit, if you have practiced ahead of time, you can usually record yourself in a way that will be suitable to your needs. Not happy with your recording? Simply start over and try again.

It is very helpful to have an operating system on your computer or laptop that is fairly up-to-date. That will ensure that the graphics in your Zoom presentation are easy to view and don’t pixelate.

I find that using a virtual background really enhances my work. I try to find free images on Unsplash that I can upload to my Zoom account. That way, I can augment each piece with a suitable graphic.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fCT-sXPMv00

--

--

Mary McGrath
Crow’s Feet

Top writer in humor, short stories, writing, advice and poetry. She’s written for Newsweek, Wall St. Journal, Good Housekeeping, and Chicken Soup for the Soul.