How We Began to Travel After a Long Hiatus

Traveling becomes more difficult due to aging

Dunelair
Crow’s Feet
3 min readMay 20, 2024

--

Las Vegas Sphere, photo by author.

My husband, Paul, and I had tired of frequent travel before the Covid-19 lockdown in 2020. Flying had become more of a hassle, driving was more challenging, and being away from home was less appealing.

Time passed quickly, and our little traveling was to the Bay Area to visit the kids and grandkids. This February, we went to Orange County on business for the first time in years.

I am happy that we are both on the same page, desiring to limit our travel. I sympathize with my friends who travel extensively without their husbands.

Paul and I agreed to plan a few trips each year, primarily to places we wanted to see in California.

Then, several weeks ago, he mentioned that he would like to go to Las Vegas, an hour’s flight away, now offered by two airlines here. I was immediately resistant. Las Vegas has little appeal to me.

An opportunity presents itself

Not long after our conversation, I accepted an unknown call despite expecting a scammer. Our doctors’ staff now often call on numbers that are not on my contact list, so I am always conflicted about answering unidentified callers.

As she read her spiel, the caller sounded young and inexperienced, but she sounded appealingly nervous, and I sympathized with her challenge. She presented a compelling “vacation deal” at the Las Vegas Hilton Grand Vacation property.

Years ago, I swore I would never agree to another timeshare presentation, but I remembered Paul’s desire to go to Las Vegas, and I wanted to help this woman meet her goal.

So, I planned a car trip despite wanting to minimize them at this stage of our lives.

Our trip to Las Vegas.

The worst part of the trip was the drive there. The traffic on I15 into Las Vegas was heavy and fast, and made me nervous. Never again. I recognize my limitations.

The best part of our time in Las Vegas was a long afternoon spent becoming acquainted with Paul’s cousin, whom we had never met. Barbara’s and Paul’s grandfathers were brothers, and her side of the family lives in Michigan. She had moved to Las Vegas, and she and Paul had become “friends” on Facebook.

Paul gambled and lost a little money, but we enjoyed seeing our favorite Las Vegas sites: the Bellagio’s Conservatory and its fountain display, the Cleveland Clinic brain center designed by Frank Gehry, and Ethel M’s chocolate factory and cactus garden. You can see my photos from these on the Snapshots publication. See below.

Bellagio display, photo by author.

Our stay at the Hilton Grand Vacations property was lovely, and our required attendance at their presentation revealed that today’s timeshare deals are less fraught than the high-pressure sales of old.

And Zion National Park

Whenever I go to Las Vegas, I always go on to Zion. There is something about the park that soothes my soul. I love the bright green foliage against the towering red cliffs. The air is clear and clean, and the sky always seems so blue.

We had lovely accommodation near the park entrance and enjoyed having dinner at the Lodge in the park. Despite the crowds, it was easy to find quiet paths and spaces.

I took many photos and posted some in the Snapshots publication which I reference below.

If you have yet to visit Zion National Park, I suggest adding it to your bucket list.

Zion National Park, photo by author.

--

--

Dunelair
Crow’s Feet

: Friend, reader, and photographer with eclectic interests. Loves living on California's central coast. Born and raised in West Virginia.