I Rode an Electric Bike

Robin James
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readJul 20, 2022

--

It was awesome

Photo taken by the author

Some time ago, I rode a bike for the first time in years. It wasn’t as thrilling as I remembered as a child. After that eye-opening experience, I put aside my love of bike riding as something that my younger self enjoyed and that my older self could remember fondly.

But then I saw an e-bike near my house on my morning walk. These bikes are scattered throughout the city and available to anyone with the app and a credit card.

My city introduced Lime and Bird e-bikes this year in addition to the e-scooters we’ve had for the past three years. I hadn’t tried out the e-scooters, mostly because every one I encountered had too low of a battery charge.

But this e-bike had a three quarter full charge.

So why not ride it?

I batted away mosquitoes while downloading the app and putting in my credit card information. Once it was all set up I tapped on the green ‘ride free 10 minutes’ button and got started.

I was pleasantly surprised to find I could lower the seat enough for it to be comfortable. I’m a short person, 4'11”, and I’ve noticed the world seems to be made for people around six-feet-tall. Because the seat was so low I was sitting pretty much upright.

--

--

Robin James
Crow’s Feet

When I’m not writing my novel I’m writing rants and whatnot. Figured I might as well post them here.