AGING/HUMOR

I Spent 20 Minutes Looking for My Coffee Cup This Morning

It was in an odd place, and I swear it got there by itself

The Writing Wombat ʕ •ᴥ•ʔ
Crow’s Feet
Published in
3 min readJul 9, 2024

--

I felt like an adventurer looking for treasure. Photo by Ethan Sykes on Unsplash

I love coffee. I have one cup every morning, and I savor it. Normally, I know exactly where my coffee cup is, but today, it grew legs and meandered somewhere truly odd.

As a woman in my late 50s, I understand my brain is slowing down a bit. I can still carry on an intelligent conversation, and I can still write. There are moments, though, that remind me I’m not 20 anymore. Losing my coffee cup in a 1,800-square-foot house is one of them.

Summer has arrived in Minnesota with a vengeance. I walked outside with my coffee around 9 AM to see how awful the weather was. I stood outside the garage in my pajama shorts and a tee shirt, trying to breathe. Between the dogwood and the humidity, that wasn’t going to happen.

I turned and went back into the house. I got dressed, gave the dog a treat, chatted with my husband, and realized my coffee cup was gone. It was not on my desk where it belonged.

Frowning, I ventured into the bathroom, thinking I had left it on the counter while brushing my hair or washing my face. No coffee cup. Maybe it was in the kitchen, even though I hadn’t been in the kitchen. No coffee cup.

--

--

The Writing Wombat ʕ •ᴥ•ʔ
Crow’s Feet

Online writer for 16 years with pieces featured on MSNBC, HuffPo, and Bill Maher. Cofounder of the original We Are Woman. Member of RAINN's Speaker Bureau.