Humor

I Substitute One Meal a Day with Gummies

Age requires I eat less, so vitamins are important to stay healthy

Brenda Mahler
Crow’s Feet
Published in
4 min readOct 5, 2021

--

Image credit: freepix

As a kid in school, I learned healthy eating by following the guidelines of the food pyramid. When I was younger, this proved pretty easy, even though I often inverted it by consuming way too many sweets.

Now at the age of 60, my stomach has shrunk. Consuming the amount of food recommended on the chart above would be impossible, especially with my sweet tooth! So I have developed a menu for life that meets my needs and the nutritional requirements necessary to remain strong and healthy.

Instead of three meals a day, I eat two and consume gummies for the traditional third meal of the day. As a kid, I loved gummies — those colorful chewy treats that held their flavor until they dissolved in my mouth, leaving a tantalizing, sticky sweetness on my tongue. The best were those that started sour and turned to mellow syrup in my mouth.

So when pharmacies introduced medicinal gummies, I thought I had struck a sugar goldmine. My first exposure came when I got a cold and needed relief. To shorten the lifespan of the illness, I chewed two Airborne and allowed the childhood memories to flood my body. It was almost worth a sore throat.

--

--

Brenda Mahler
Crow’s Feet

Real life person sharing real life stories. Writing about travel, dogs, and healthy lifestyles.