I Survived

And so did you

Ann Litts
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo by Patrick Ho on Unsplash

Fall is here. In my autumn musings, I have noticed a subtle change in my being. Autumn used to be a time of stress for me as I braced for the holiday madness and prayed to survive another northern winter.

This is the first fall I am retired. And perhaps that makes all the difference. Somewhere along the way, I realized that I had survived All. The. Things. that I never thought I would/could.

I survived being a motherless child of a negligent father.

I survived high school and college and my career with all the in-groups and out-groups that made me feel less-than.

I survived my marriage and my divorce.

I survived raising two daughters in a world unkind to women. They are strong, independent, and fierce.

I survived all the broken relationships along the way. Friends, lovers, relatives whose expectations I would never fulfill.

I survived a career fraught with landmines. Last November when I retired with my nurse’s license intact, I counted it a bloody miracle.

I survived financial crises. All of them. Every single one. Money was always tight and savings was non-existent for more years than I can count.

--

--