I Woke Up One Day and Realized I Might be Old

Lee J. Bentch
Crow’s Feet
Published in
5 min readJun 5, 2021

--

The future is now.

Photo by Max Böhme on Unsplash

It happened unceremoniously. I woke up one day and realized I might be old.

There were no parties, fireworks, brass bands, balloons, or champagne: just another sunrise, a cup of coffee, and a glance at the weather report.

“I am in my upper 60's,” I told myself. “Am I old?” I voiced out loud as I wondered if my Social Security check got deposited.

“I still think I am career-relevant,” I said, staring at myself in the mirror.

Ok, my beard is gray, and I shave my head to hide my natural baldness. I have a few skin spots, and my biggest fear is forgetting to trim the hair off my ears.

I struggle putting my socks and shoes on. I’m sure some of the clothes I’m wearing are over 20 years old. A few aches and pains remind me it’s obvious I’m not in my 30’s any longer.

“But does all this make me old?” I kept asking myself.

Hoping the mirror image would morph itself into a GQ Male Model or at least a stately portrait of Sean Connery, I admired my big belly while taking my morning medications and supplements.

I was perplexed. Not upset by any means, but I realized maybe I shouldn’t be in denial about the effects of aging.

--

--

Lee J. Bentch
Crow’s Feet

I am an author, a technology guy, a grandad, a widower, and a man with many interests. I write to inform and entertain. Email: lee@lbentch.com