If You Love Colors or Are Color-Sensitive You Can Use Them as a Resource for Improving Your Mood, Managing Your Eating, and Helping You Reach Your Goals

Jean Anne Feldeisen
Crow’s Feet
Published in
7 min readJan 9, 2022

--

More from a Seventyish Woman

Shiny holiday tins, bowl of chocolate kisses, cooling racks with cookies
Photo credits: photo taken by the author

I find that I am eating better this week. Yesterday we gave the remaining cookies to the birds, put the candy away, and gave away the second half of my only stollen this year to a good friend. Despite my sincere intentions to stop eating the wrong stuff and to give things away whenever I had the opportunity, I found myself almost mourning the loss of this little fruit-and-nut-studded half-a-loaf. What is up with that? Giving bread to a friend needn’t be painful, but it felt that way. The Stollen I make at Christmas is a symbol of the joys of the season, is carefully sliced and presented, mainly from me to me, as a treat each morning of the holiday.

At my age, the sooner I can get back on track, the easier it is on my body and mind. So, it is gone, as are the cookies, the candy dish of Hershey's kisses which I had to buy to decorate the cookie boxes, the candy canes I used to decorate the dessert trays. All the pretty stuff is put away where it is out of sight and not luring us to eat it. I miss the trappings of the holiday, though. It was so colorful and exciting.

--

--

Jean Anne Feldeisen
Crow’s Feet

I've got my fingers in way too many pots. Cook, writer, poet, reader, musician, therapist, dreamer, a transplant from New Jersey suburbs to a farm in Maine.