I’m Finally Done With Halloween

It doesn’t help that the decorations go up in August

George “Ace” Acevedo
Crow’s Feet

--

Photo Credit: Author

Halloween makes me feel old.

This holiday has left me behind, and I think that’s what bothers me about it. Every other holiday has evolved for us over the years. We learn to appreciate days like Christmas in different ways as we age.

Halloween also appears to have grown tremendously in the last couple of decades. The decorations and costumes are more elaborate, on par with movie studios.

My wife says she has never been a Halloween person, even as a kid. She typically sets up fall decorations in September. Meanwhile, Halloween was fun for me, but my interest waned in my teen years.

I’ve been to Halloween parties here and there, but the trouble is that after those few early minutes when everyone wants to see what you’re wearing, you end up standing around with part of your costume poking you and making you itch the rest of the night. If you’re wearing a mask, that comes off the moment you pour your first drink, so what’s the point?

Curiosity made us walk into a Spirit Halloween store the other day. You know, the ones that sprout up in empty storefronts in July. We went in because we were curious about seeing firsthand the differences from our youth.

--

--

George “Ace” Acevedo
Crow’s Feet

Writer. Noisemaker. Visual Artist. Former radio guy who knows a little about a lot.